May the 4th movie marathon: How to watch all the Star Wars movies in CORRECT order | Films | Entertainment

Star Wars has become one of the most famous franchises in the movie industry. Star Wars has spawned books, TV series, cartoons, merchandise and a huge number of movies. But for those hoping to turn May 4 into a movie marathon day, there is really one way to watch the Star Wars movies.

Of course, Star Wars fans will know the movies were not released in the order of events taking place.

However, some fans like to be purists and enjoy the movies in the order they were released, rather than trying to move the chronology to fit the timeline.

For those who wish to do this, the release date order is as follows:

Star Wars – later named Star Wars: A New Hope (1977)

Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

Star Wars: Return of the Jedi (1983)

Star Wars: The Phantom Menace (1999)

Star Wars: Attack of the Clones (2002)

Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith (2005)

Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015)

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (2016)

Star Wars: The Last Jedi (2017)

While many people may wish to see the films in the order they were released, many would consider the correct order to actually be something completely different.

That order would be the one which fits the franchise’s timeline, which is a little more complicated and difficult to figure out.

There are certain films, such as Rogue One, which is a little harder to place in an official timeline, as is the case with Solo, the Han Solo prequel.

However, there is a clear timeline which can also include the spin-off TV series and even the Disney World rides.

Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018)

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (2019)

Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015)

Star Wars: The Last Jedi (2017)

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (2019)

There will also be some new trilogies coming, however, the way those will fit in the timeline has not been confirmed.

The latest instalment, Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, is currently available to buy and download, as well as buy on hard copy, and will also be added to Sky Cinema on May 4.

Source link